Referee Unaware Brock Lesnar Was Beating Undertaker

Posted by Matt Boone April 10, 2014 9 Comments

Apparently referee , who was the official in the ring for the vs. match at , was not aware that Lesnar was going over in the bout. In fact, he was informed ahead of time that Undertaker was going to win the match.

The rule given to all WWE officials, which came into play in this match, is that if a wrestler does not kick out at two, you go ahead with the count as if it were a legitimate pin in a legitimate competition.

Another interesting note stemming from what will go down in history as one of the most famous matches of all-time, is that Lesnar privately whispered “thank you” in Undertaker’s ear following the three-count, expressing his gratitude for the honor that “The Dead Man” was bestowing upon him.

(Credit: Wrestling Observer Newsletter)